Nintendo Direct: SNES games come to Nintendo Switch Online

By Jack Taylor – 5 September 2019

Super Nintendo games are coming to a new Nintendo Switch Online app, with 20 available from today.

Revealed during the latest Nintendo Direct presentation, the Super Nintendo Entertainment System - Nintendo Switch Online app launches worldwide on 5 and 6 September, with 20 games available in the launch lineup:

  • Brawl Brothers
  • Breath of Fire
  • Demon’s Crest
  • F-Zero
  • Joe & Mac 2: Lost in the Tropics
  • Kirby’s Dream Course
  • Kirby’s Dream Land 3
  • Pilotwings
  • Star Fox
  • Stunt Race FX
  • Super Earth Defense Force
  • Super Ghouls’n Ghosts
  • Super Mario Kart
  • Super Mario World
  • Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island
  • Super Metroid
  • Super Puyo Puyo 2
  • Super Soccer
  • Super Tennis
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

Super Puyo Puyo 2 will be available outside of Japan for the first time ever through the app, while three further games - Stunt Race FX, Super Soccer, and Super Tennis - are receiving their first reissues since their original SNES releases.

The app will include functionality with the Nintendo Switch Online mobile app, including voice chat and online multiplayer in certain games, while suspend points and a rewind feature are also included.

Nintendo has also announced a new Super Nintendo wireless controller, which is compatible with Nintendo Switch and charges using a USB-C cable, same as the Switch itself and the Nintendo Switch Pro Controller; the controller will be available in the near future for £26.99 or $29.99.

More games will be added to the app in the future.

Surely that's old news by now...

The news story you're reading originated from The Nintendo Channel, a precursor website to Video Games Advance, and was migrated across in 2022. As such, some parts of this story (including but not limited to videos, images, sources, and web links) are likely to have been lost in the process. The remaining content is kept here for archival purposes. Related games and tags have been added, and where possible, missing content will be restored in the future, at which point this notice will be removed.